My sewing space… a WIP

I have been working hard over the last weeks trying to organize my sewing room and now, just now!, is finally taking shape. I should have probably taken photos of the BEFORE and WAY BEFORE THE BEFORE, but it was really a mess. Well, maybe not a mess. The thing is that it is not only my sewing room, like I use to have upstairs (you can see a bit of it here). That one became Conor’s room when he turned up, so I moved downstairs where there is a spare bedroom, with a walk-in wardrobe and an en-suit bathroom, aka My Parent’s Room when they’re visiting. It is not the same having your own room than one where there are passers-by all the time (it’s the only bathroom downstairs) plus it became as a laundry room too. So I decided it needed a whole rearrangement.

Things I got rid off:

– Huge big ironing board. I still love it and is great for ironing quilt tops, but I’m not ironing quilt tops all the time. So upstairs it went.

– Laundry basket. It was used as a storage box to keep batting and other supplies, but I can get rid of it and store the batting somewhere else. I still don’t know where it will go.

– Bookshelves. I had them in a corner, next to the window and the sofa. We need book shelves in another room so they’ve emigrated where they’re much needed and appreciated.

Let me give you the  little tour… but this is NOT THE FINAL LOOK! You’ll see things all over the place but you’ll get a good idea. Also, I’ll be painting the walls…

photo 1 copy

First change: You see that unit in the corner where the printer and the serger are? That was where the desk is now. And the desk was just behind the table, so I was sewing with the window at my back. I like having a big table to spread the quilt on when I’m quilting, but I felt a bit confined in that corner. Now I’m sewing facing the wall, but when I need to quilt, I’ll move the seeing machine onto the table and that’s all. I’ll put some shelves above the desk for keeping notions and bits and pieces. The low shelves under the table were under one side wing , now they’re right under and across. Oh, and that ottoman, I love it! it has the perfect height to sit on and it stores a great amount of fabric too.

photo 1

Here you can see the area behind the table, it is like the counter in a shop :-). The fabric bolds are there in the corner now. I’ll move the serger out of the way since I don’t use it that often (yet). The spool holder that my brother made will live over the desk area.

photo 2 copy

The big change: Here’s the opposite side. The only thing that hasn’t moved is the sofa. There were bookshelves in the corner where the little floor lamp stands and that little coffee table was right beside on the other side where the new shelves are now. Yep, IKEA. Don’t pay attention how they’re stuffed at the moment, I needed to have them up and I just threw everything in for the time being. Right now they look more organised, really. I will put 2 shelves on the wall beside the window, and I’ll hang some pictures or mini quilts on the wall above the sofa, where the tiny owl hook is graciously covering a nail.

 

photo 2

There’s the entrance door and a little boy on the sofa.

photo 4

I’m planning to make a design wall on the area above the radiator. I actually wished it hadn’t been placed there, as I think it takes a good potential from that wall, but anyway, that’s how things are. I’ll show you the rest next time…

So it was quite a busy day today. I came from work at 2pm, having started my shift yesterday at 4pm, I spent most of the afternoon here in this room with Hana and Conor pottering around. Then we put them to bed around 8pm and I borrowed my friend’s bike to go for a spin. What a lovely evening!!! Just look at this:

photo 3 copy 4

I cycled all the way out from the island to the causeway and went down to the beach. The smells and the sounds… The freshly cut hay as you pass by the fields and the sea weed and the salty sea right when you hit the causeway. The funny cows looking at me passing by and the sound of the cuckoo… this is really paradise for me. I’ll show you the rest of the tour (both room and cycling) next week. Have a good weekend!

7 Comments

Filed under COSTURA- SEWING, My Sewing Space

7 responses to “My sewing space… a WIP

  1. You have a nice cozy room there. Cycling! I haven’t done it foe years!

    • Thank you Tomomi, it’s like moving into a new place altogether, so exciting. The difference it makes to rearrange furniture and add a few little things…and the cycling… I hope to get a bike this summer, maybe for my birthday…

  2. What an amazing space! I love the big table – it’s so good to be able to have space on all sides of the work surface. I love it! Natalie x

    • Thank you Natalie, yes a big table really makes a difference! but also, the bigger the table, the bigger the mess on it! It can get pretty wild some times…

  3. Oooh! Quanta llum!! M’encanta!! Serà fantàstic els dies (o minuts al dia) que faci sol!!! 😀

Leave a comment