Raspberry and Cream Meringue Roulade

roulade2 

Here’s the traditional Berry and Cream Roulade that my friend always makes when we’re celebrating birthdays.

So because today it is Conor’s 2nd birthday, (remember this, this and this…?) Wow, two years today… this little busy man decided it was time to see the world. What a quick birth it was. He was really in a hurry, and still is… I promise I’ll son show you how handsome he is (just like his ma, ha!).

So I asked my friend to teach me how to make it and also share it here with you. I made one last Saturday and took photos of every step. It was gone in… 2 hours? I’ll be making a fresh one later on today and I think it won’t last that long.

Here’s what you need:

4 egg whites

8 oz white caster sugar

A tub of whipping cream

Berries ( this time I used raspberries only )

1. Preheat the oven at 180C (mine has a fan and I found that I need to turn it down at 170C) .Prepare a shallow rectangular baking tray lined with tin foil and very slightly oiled with a brush.

photo 2

2. Beat the egg whites until white and stiff with an electric mixer and add the sugar gradually. You will need to mix it FOR 10 MINUTES, at least until they very stiff.

photo 1

3. Pour the egg mix onto the lined tray and spread it all over with a spatula. See how thick it is?

photo 3

photo 4

4. Bake for 15 minutes sharp, no more no less. (Mine here was a bit over done at the edges, so that’s why I’ll turn down the heat a bit and stay within the 15 minutes), to be honest, I’d rather ave it slightly over done than under. Take it out and place it onto a rack (still within the tin) to cool down. It will sink and crack, that’s ok.

photo 1 copy

5. Lift it  with the foil and place it from the tin onto a flat surface. Cut another piece of foil and place it on top of it. Use the back of the rectangular tin to put it on top and help you flip it over so it now lays onto the back of the tin. Carefully peel off the foil.

photo 2 copy 2

photo 3 copy 2

6. Whip the cream until stiff and spread it all over. Cut the raspberries in half and scatter them over the cream.

photo 1 copy 3

7. Now use the foil to help you roll it over (as if you were making sushi rolls, if you’ve ever made them…),

photo 2 copy

photo 3 copy

photo 4 copy

Transfer onto another surface to be decorated and that’s it. You can put a bit of cream on top so the berries can stick into place. Enjoy!

photo 1 copy 2

photo 2 copy 3

roulade

9 Comments

Filed under CUINA - COOKING

9 responses to “Raspberry and Cream Meringue Roulade

  1. Oh, what a coincidence! We were just at friend’s last night and she made a version of this for dessert! It is so yummy!

    • Isn’t it? It’s one of those you have to make when you have guests… I don’t think I could handle being on my own knowing that I have this in the fridge!

  2. Looks so yummy! Happy birthday to your little boy!!

  3. Quina pinta Irina!! Ho haurem de provar. Dos anys ja!!!! No me’n recordava que el Conor és com l’Emma,! Moltíssimes felicitats

  4. mamaduende

    Moltes felicitats Conor! Quina pinta que fa, algun dia ho haurem de probar….

  5. this looks really yummy. I bought a baking tray from Lakeland especially for making a roulade an couple of years ago, but have yet to use it.

Leave a Reply

