Finishing UFO’s

It took me a while to figure out all those acronyms in the quilting world. Now I’m getting used to them… UFO, UnFinishedObject…

Well, this is a quilt I started about 6 months ago, using a jelly roll that someone gave me about… 2 years ago??? Then, about… a year ago I bought this book, Jelly Roll Inspirations, and I chose this pattern:

IMG_6139

Hi ha molts acromins en el mon del partchwork blocaire, i aquest “UFO” es refereix a  Un Finished Objects, objectes no acabats… Doncs tinc un quilt que vaig començar a fer fa uns sis mesos, amb un jelly roll que em van donar fara… uns dos anys??? i fa cosa d’un any vaig comprar aquest llibre:  Jelly Roll Inspirations, i vaig escollir aquest projecte que veieu a la foto de dalt.

IMG_6041

I have changed a bit the display of the blocks, and why not confess that I made a mistake while cutting a block from the 5 sewn strips. That resulted in trying to find 5 other strips that coordinated with the rest of the roll and start again… so from then on, the pattern was modified a bit, by accident. Hana was helping me to arrange the triangles before sewing them into blocks, just so we could have a quick peek at how it would look.

IMG_6036

He canviat la posicio dels blocs i per que no confessar que em vaig equivocar al tallar uns quants blocs de les 5 tires que has de cosir. Aixo em va fer buscar 5 altres tires que coordinessin amb la resta del roll i des d’aqui que el patro ja v anar modificant, per accident. La Hana em va ajudar a organitzar una mica els triangles per veure com quedaria.

IMG_6039

Once all blocks were sewn, I arranged them randomly like this to have another look. So the next step now is to sew  them together. It has quite a traditional look with this fabric, so I’m thinking of the quilting and I’d like to try the knot tying technique. I found this tutorial which I might follow. But I wonder, have any of you tried tying a quilt? do you know a good tutorial? any tips that you could share? I have no idea about what kind thread/needle are the best…

IMG_6046

Un cop cosits tots en blocks, els vaig posar junts i aqui estan. Ara els he de cosir i acabar el top. Te un look molt tradicional amb aquestes teles i estic pensant de com fare l’encoixinat de lligar nusos. Vaig trobar aquest tutorial i crec que el seguire. Algu de vosaltres a probat mai de fer un encoixinat aixi? no tinc ni idea de quin es el fil  mes adient o quin tipus d’agulla, pero ja ho esbrinare…

7 Comments

Filed under COSTURA- SEWING, PATCHWORK

7 responses to “Finishing UFO’s

  1. Margarita

    Irina es preciós..m’agrada molt la combinació de colors..trobo que en “joc del Pachtwork” és el mes important..es clar que és subjectiu!
    Jo he acabat un que hauria d’haver estat Jelly roll però vaig voler comprar les robes al meu gust i les vaig tallar jo..el 1er treball de pacht i ja pots imaginar com va anar…però sortosament a quedat bastant decent…
    **********************+
    Irina it’s wonderful! I like very much the colors combination been most important.
    I have finished one without pre-cut and you can imagine the result..but finally it’s quite decent

  2. Hi Irina

    I love how the use of light and dark creates all sorts of secondary patterns in this quilt!

    I’ve only ever tied a quilt once and then again, not an entire quilt. What I mean is, I machine quilted around the blocks first and then I ‘tied’ each block in the middle. I used 6 strands of embroidery floss and I also attached a button at the same time. That tutorial looks like a good one to follow and explains it very well.

    I can’t wait to see it finished! Natalie x

  3. It is a lovely quilt. Looks very intricate until you see it close up and then I can see how it is done. Very pretty colours.
    Cath @ Bits ‘n Bobs

  4. This looks wonderful! I’ve never tried tying a quilt but I’m going to check out your link🙂

Leave a Reply

