New Stitches

IMG_6026I used to cross stitch a looooooong time ago… I think it’s the second thing my mum taught me craftwise, knitting was the first. I made a good few cross stitched projects, but the only one I took with me when I came to live in Ireland was this one. I like it, three colours only, on linen. I think I got the pattern from one of my mum’s Burda magazines, hence the German…

Fa moooolt de temps que ja no faig res de punt de creu, pero es una de les primeres cose que la meva mare em va ensenyar, a part de fer punt. He fet bastantes coses en punt de creu, pero l’unica que vaig portar aqui a Irlanda es aquest quadre fet sobre tela de lli, en tres colors. Crec que vaig treure el patro d’una de les revista de Burda de la meva mare, per aixo esta en alemany…

IMG_6027

I always hand sew everything up until 5 years ago when I started to learn how to use a sewing machine, so the only stitches I know well are the backstitch, cross stitch, chain … Oh yes, and the runner stitch for hand quilting! Actually, now that I’m thinking of I also know the blanket stitch…so that’s not too bad after all.

Anyway, it hasn’t been until recently though that I’m admiring hand embroidery, especially when Natalie from SEWING ROOM SECRETS popped in here one day and I discovered her newborn blog. She makes these cute things, mixing embroidery with appliqué, just look at this, this and this, and she’s also a quilter!

Then I saw this project she’s working on, from Lilipopo‘s lovely patterns (which you can find in here).

So now I’m definitely trying some embroidery, who wouldn’t after seeing all this! Natalie was very good at leading me to Sarah’s Hand Embroidery Tutorials where you can find AMAZING tutorials for all kinds of stitches. So I took a hoop and started trying all the stitches that Sarah teaches in her site. What about you? do you cross stitch or do embroidery? Would you show me your work by adding the link in a comment? thank you!

I’ll show you what I’ve done so far…

IMG_6002

The fern stitch on dark red and the algerian eye stitch in yellow.

IMG_6003

The ray stitch in light green and the fan stitch in purple. Above I made a border with an interlaced running stitch, combining three colours.

Sempre he cosit tot a ma fins fa 5 anys quan vaig aprendre a cosir a maquina. Nomes se uns quants  punts, el recte, el de festo, el de creu i el de cadeneta. No esta tan malament…

Fa unes setmanes vaig descobrir el blog d’una nova seguidora, la Natalie, de SEWING ROOM SECRETS, i ultimament estic admirant els brodats que fa. Mireu aixo, aixo i aixo, i a mes fa patchwork tambe!  Pero aleshores, vaig veure aquest projecte que esta fent ara, d’un patro de la Lilipopo on podeu trobar-ne mes aqui. I be, despres de veure aixo… doncs ho vull probar! La Natalie em va dirigir cap aquesta web, on pots trobar tutorials de tots els punts imaginables! Aixi que he agafat l’aro de brodar (o com se digui!!!) i he decidit probar tots els punts de la web. De moment he fet aixo. No traduire els punts perque no tinc ni idea de com es deuen dir en catala…ho sento! Ja anire ensenyant el meu progres a mida que vagi fent.

I vosaltres? feu punt de creu  o brodats? voleu ensenyar el que feu? deixeu un comentari amb l’enllaç per que ho pugui veure! gracies!

IMG_6004

These are not very well made diamond eyelets…

IMG_6006

The one on the left is a mistake, but it turned out to be a lovely pattern! I wanted to make the stepped running stitch but I didn’t realize I had to alternate the running stitches. The one on the right is a variety of the parallel running stitch.

IMG_6005

So I added a line of running stitches to alternate with the red ones, but then the stepped running stitch wasn’t working that well because it needs a wider space between the two lines…

IMG_6007

On the left there’s a variety of the parallel running stitch and on the right the whipped running stitch.

I’ll show you more next week!

6 Comments

Filed under BRODATS, EMBROIDERY

6 responses to “New Stitches

  1. Your stitches look beautiful!

    • Jaysus that was a quick first comment! I was still correcting some spelling mistakes… Thank you Barbara, I don’t know whether this new hobby is going to be a bliss or a curse! I think I’ll have social services calling at my door for family negligence, even though I work in social services myself!

  2. Oh my goodness Irina! What beautiful work! I knew you would be great at it🙂

    You have tried so many stitches in such a short space of time – some of which I have never tried before! I think I will need some lessons from you soon🙂 Can’t wait to see what you do next – Lilipopo perhaps?

    P.S. I did laugh out loud at the thought of you saying ‘Jaysus’ – you have picked up the Irish lingo to a tee! Nat x

    • Thank you Natalie, I have a project in mind already, but I also want to fill the hoop with all kinds of stitches, like a sampler.
      Irish lingo? me??? it’s impossible to avoid it, I’d say! I do have a funny accent, I speak Irish English, with a light Spanish accent and a Northern Irish twist (thanks to my Belfast hubby…)

  3. I am just learning, your is so lovely! I cannot wait to see what you make.

Leave a Reply

